Reliance Cricket World Cup -1987

Reliance Cricket World Cup -1987
Winners - Australia

The fourth edition Cricket World Cup in 1987 was sponserd by Reliance, so it is officially named as Reliance Cricket World Cup.

For the first time, the Cricket World Cup tournament was held outside England. India and Pakistan together hosted this mega event. The event was starts with Pakistan Vs Sri Lanka - October 8, 1987 at Hyderabad and ends with the final match - Australia v England on November 8, 1987 at Calcutta (Kolkata).

As the three previous World Cups, even this time only 8 countries participated who played the preliminary matches in 2 groups of 4 each. Following the 1983 World Cup, each country played its groupmates twice. The top two teams from each group played the semifinals and the winners qualified for the final match. The same tradition was followed as in the past three World Cups, white dress, red balls and day-light match. The only change that took place was the reduction of overs from 60 to 50, the current standard.

Australia won the final by defeating England by 7 runs. Allan Border, the captain of Australia Team lifted the 1987 World Cup in the Eden Gardens stadium in Calcutta (India). India and Pakistan were the other semifinalists, which they failed to bring about an eagerly awaited India-Pakistan final. The two time winner, West Indies, failed to live up to expectations by not qualifying for the semifinals. David Boon was awarded the title of 'Man of the Match' for the final match.

This Cricket World Cup was the last world cup of Indian great batsman Sunil Gavaskar. He scored his only ODI century against New Zealand.

No comments:

Post a Comment