Cricket World Cup -20037

The ninth edition of ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 was held in the spectacular islands of West Indies from on March 13, 2007 and April 28, 2007. It is the first time the Cricket World Cup has been held in the Caribbean.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 Mascot is an orange mongoose called Mello. Mello is neither an object, animal nor person but instead a youthful, friendly, contemporary character with bright eyes, a big smile and an abundance of personality. Mello represents zest for life. He is in his teens - cheeky and curious - and is socially aware. Mello is aware of the growing HIV epidemic around the world and therefore wears a red ribbon to show his support for the ICC/UNAIDS initiative.

This tournament feature 16 teams, i.e. Australia, South Africa, Scotland, Netherlands, Sri Lanka, India, Bangladesh, Bermuda, New Zealand, England, Kenya, Canada, Pakistan, West Indies, Zimbabwe, Ireland. The teams are divided into four groups. Within each group, the teams will play each other in a round-robin format. Teams will earn points for wins and half-points for ties. The top two teams from each group, a total of eight, will move forward to the "Super 8" round. The top two teams from each group will play the other six teams that progressed from different groups. Teams will earn points in the same way as the group stage, but will also bring points scored against the other team who qualified from the same group to the "Super 8" stage. The top four teams from the "Super 8" round will advance to the semi-finals, and the winners of the semi-finals will compete in the final.

The official Song of ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 has been titled "THE GAME OF LOVE AND UNITY". The song has been sung by Jamaican-born Shaggy, Barbadian entertainer Rupee and Trinidadian Faye-Ann Lyons.

The final match was played between the finalists of 1996 World Cup, Australia and Sri Lanka at the Kensington Oval, Barbados. Australia wins Cricket World Cup 2007 final by 53 runs.

Revenue wise, Cricket World Cup 2007 West Indies, or officially speaking ICC Cricket World Cup 2007, was not a big hit, as the advent of T20 Cricket made people a bit disinterested in ODIs. Also, due to the poor performance of West Indian team, the local crowd was not much interested in the matches of ICC Cricket World Cup 2007. The weather was also not Cricket friendly. Due to this, some games of Cricket World Cup 2007 West Indies were curtailed.

Many teams, including India lost their captain after the world cup debacle. Rahul Dravid was the Indian captain and he was removed from captaincy and wicketkeeper batsman Mahendra Singh Dhoni was made the Indian captain.Overall, Cricket World Cup 2007 West Indies was not a flop, neither a hit. ICC Cricket World Cup 2007 would be remembered as the first hattrick of any international Cricket team to win 3 World Cups in a row.

  • Tournament formats - Round robin and Knockout
  • Host - West Indies
  • Champions - Australia
  • Runner up - Sri Lanka
  • Semi Finalist: New Zealand, Soputh Africa
  • Teams - 16
  • Matches played - 51
  • Most runs - Matthew Hayden (659)
  • Most wickets - Glenn McGrath (26)
  • Player of the series - Glenn McGrath (Australia)

1 comment:

  1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.