ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 - openning ceremony

The 10th edition of the ICC World Cup 2011 is underway in Dhaka, capital of Bangladesh. A total of 14-team are competing in the event along with hosts India and Sri Lanka.

Bangladeshi Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina declared the event open amid thundering cheers from a packed crowd at the renovated Bangabandhu stadium, marking the return of the showpiece event to the sub-continent after a gap of 15 years.

The evening sky lit up with spectacular fireworks as the high-profile 14-team competition was declared open in front of a host of dignitaries and top ICC and Cricket Board officials..

Captains of all the 14 participating nations got an unforgettable ride on tri-cycles while music, folk songs and dances, breath-taking fireworks and the collective enthusiasm of the Bangladeshi capital ushered in the event in a two-hour spectacle.

A breath-taking aerial cricket match, played horizontally on a building, kept the spectators spellbound.

Indian singer Sonu Nigam then entertained the crowd with the "Spirit of Cricket' song.

Bangladeshi top vocalists Runa Laila, Sabina Yasmin and Mumtaz also crooned in front of a capacity crowd which was treated to a musical extravaganza in three languages - English, Hindi and Bangla.

Canadian rocker Bryan Adams helps kickstart the 2011 cricket World Cup on Thursday at the tournament's opening ceremony, marking the start of a gruelling six-week sporting marathon.

The sub-continent had its first date with the World Cup when India and Pakistan hosted it in 1987 before Sri Lanka joined them in 1996.

Sub-continent, for all practical purposes, is the nerve centre of the game now, though 1992 champions Pakistan could not be one of the co-hosts due to the terror attacks that targetted touring Sri Lankan cricketers in 2009.

But Bangladesh will be having one big party in their silver jubilee year of initiation into one-day cricket.

The tenth edition of Cricket world cup, featuring 14 teams and 49 matches while 29 matches in India, a 12 in Sri Lanka and 8in Bangladesh from 19th February to 2nd April 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment