Virender Sehwag to lead MCC team

India Test discard Virender Sehwag has been roped in to captain the Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) squad in a four-day Champion County match against Durham starting March 23 in Abu Dhabi, while Sri Lankan spin great Muttiah Muralitharan will lead the team in the preceding Emirates T20 tournament. The pair will lead a squad that also includes England's Monty Panesar and Sri Lankan wicket-keeper Prasanna Jayawardene.

Virender Sehwag also confirmed to appear in the MCC v Rest of the World Lord's Bicentenary match on July 5.

The MCC team will arrive in Abu Dhabi on March 18 to take part in the Emirates T20 tournament on March 21 which also features Lancashire, Sussex, Durham and a Fly Emirates Select XI. Lancashire will then play 50-over matches against an MCC Universities Combined XI and MCC Young Cricketers on March 22 and 23 respectively.

Muralitharan will be making a special appearance as MCC captain in the Emirates T20 tournament, which will be played under the MCC Spirit of Cricket banner and will feature the use of pink cricket balls.

The traditional four-day County Champion match will get underway on March 23 and will be a day/night match played with a pink ball.

Here the MCC squad travelling to Abu Dhabi
  • Virender Sehwag India - captain
  • Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka) - captain (T20 fixtures only)
  • Sam Robson (Middlesex & England Lions)
  • Luis Reece (Lancashire)
  • Daniel Bell-Drummond (Kent)
  • Samit Patel (Nottinghamshire & England)
  • Prassana Jayawardene (Sri Lanka)
  • Ollie Rayner (Middlesex & England Lions)
  • Andre Adams (Nottinghamshire)
  • Harry Gurney (Nottinghamshire & England)
  • Kyle Hogg (Lancashire)
  • Monty Panesar (Essex & England)

No comments:

Post a Comment