Sachin Tendulkar and Ricky Ponting at opposite poles as walking debate rages

Indian master batsman Sachin Tendulkar and Australian captain Ricky Ponting took two opposite sides as the walking debate raged in the ongoing cricket World Cup in the sub-continent.

Sachin Tendulkar walked back to the pavillion despite the umpire signalling not out during India's league match against the West Indies here while Ponting stayed his ground till he was ruled out after a successful review by Pakistan in another match.

Tendulkar was hoping to score his 100th international hundred but his innings ended when he was dismissed for just two. He faced only four balls, clipping fast bowler Ravi Rampaul to wicket-keeper Devon Thomas and he walked without waiting for the umpire's decision.

Ponting had made 19 when he edged off-spinner Mohammad Hafeez to Kamran Akmal at the R Premadasa stadium in Colombo on Saturday. When on-field umpire Marias Erasmus gave the Australian captain not out, the decision was reviewed and overturned. Ponting admitted he knew he had edged the ball but said he had always waited for the umpire's decision all through his career. "There were no doubts about the nick, I knew I hit it, but as always I wait for the umpire to give me out. That's the way I've always played the game," he said.

West Indies captain Darren Sammy hailed Tendulkar as "a true gentleman" for walking despite Australian umpire Steve Davis ruling him not out. "It shows the measure of the man (Tendulkar). He is a true gentleman. After 17,000 runs, he could walk. That was brilliant on the part of Sachin," Sammy said after his side lost their last Group B match by 80 runs.

No comments:

Post a Comment