List of Asia Cup champions

The 12th edition of the Asia Cup will get under way in Bangladesh. Asia Cup will be contested between Asian countries India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan (introduced in 2014 edition).

The first Asia Cup was played in the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in 1983-84. India won the inaugural tournament, defeating Sri Lanka.

India is the most successful team with five titles. Here is the list of previous Asia Cup champions starting from the inaugural edition in 1983-84.

Year Host Champion Runner-Up
1984 UAE India Sri Lanka
1986 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka Pakistan
1988 Bangladesh India Sri Lanka
1990-91 India India Sri Lanka
Pakistan (Cancelled)
1995 UAE India Sri Lanka
1997 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka India
2000 Bangladesh Pakistan Sri Lanka
2004 Sri Lanka Sri Lanka India
2008 Pakistan Sri Lanka India
2010 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2012 Bangladesh Pakistan Bangladesh
2014 Bangladesh TBD TBD

No comments:

Post a Comment